One of the most anticipated features of WhatsApp i.e. ‘Delete for Everyone’ has finally started to roll out to some of the WhatsApp users. As a result, users would now be able to delete sent messages in a particular chat or a group altogether. However, both the sender and the receiver should be having the latest WhatsApp update to avail this new feature.
At the outset, the feature will be available to only a few users. However, with the passage of time, it would be available to all android, iOS and Windows phone users. Moreover, it will also work on the web version. WhatsApp has advised the users to update their WhatsApp app to the latest version to utilize this option.
Also Read: WhatsApp starts real time location sharing
Statement by the company
WhatsApp said in a statement:
“To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”
According to Facebook-owned messaging app, a person can delete sent messages in a specific chat or group within 7 minutes after sending it. There is no way a person can delete the message once 7 minutes are passed.
Availability of the feature
Several users have started to use this feature since it has become available to them. Besides this option of ‘Delete for Everyone’, a user will also have the option of ‘Delete for Me’. Consequently, he can delete a specific message from his phone.
The recall feature is already available in other popular chat apps like Telegram, Viber, and few others. Subsequently, WhatsApp is also looking to make it available to its billion daily active users as well.